How to Make Every Page of the Bible a God Encounter

Mark Furlong
3 min readFeb 21, 2024
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

Your relationship with God through Scripture never has to be boring

One day, it hit me. Every single page of the Bible has insights about God and life.

I know you have to dig a little deeper to find God in the genealogies and some of the Levitical laws and ceremonies, but if we slow down and prayerfully think, we can see some aspect of God in every single page.

And even more important than seeing some aspect of God, we can actually experience a measure of God’s life through those words.

Why?

Because each word of Scripture is God-breathed. (2 Timothy 3:16, ESV)

Because God and His Word are one. “In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” (John 1:1, ESV).

Every sentence, every word in Scripture can be a God encounter.

How?

  1. Pause for a moment and remind yourself, “This is the Word of God and God is in His word.” The attitude we have when we read or study the Bible makes a HUGE difference.

Sometimes, even when I’m having one of those days where I just don’t feel like praying or reading the Bible, if I simply do it anyway, God meets me and I can tell.

But when I take a few seconds to remind myself that every sentence in the Bible carries God’s truth, power, and revelation in it; it primes me to open my soul and mind to God.

It increases my “feeling God” experiences.

This is not “duty”, this is privilege.

2. Pray and ask the Holy Spirit to make this a God encounter time. The Holy Spirit loves to reveal God’s presence and truth to us.

“But as it is written, ‘What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of main imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him’ — these things God has revealed to us through the Spirit. For the Spirit searches everything, even the depths of God….Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God that we might understand the things freely given us by God.” (1 Corinthians 2:9–10, 12, ESV)

The Holy Spirit does amazing things in our lives.

The wonderful Holy Spirit searches the depths of God and reveals the things freely given us by God. These are things that are beyond what any person has seen, heard, or imagined.

The Holy Spirit reveals to us and imparts to us who and what God has freely given us in Christ.

Without the Holy Spirit, the Bible is a closed book. Without the Holy Spirit, people do not see the riches of God’s grace.

With the Holy Spirit, we see more and more what God is like and what He has given us in Jesus.

3. If you’ve taken these two steps and have not been encouraged, enlightened, or exhorted, then take a few moments to prayerfully ask yourself a few questions:

  1. What does this passage tell me about God?
  2. What does it tell me about myself?
  3. What does it tell me about how God’s kingdom works?
  4. Is there a promise for me to embrace?
  5. Is there a sin for me to confess?
  6. Is there a prayer I should pray for myself or for someone else?

Write and/or pray what the Holy Spirit shows you.

Little by little, these regular God-encounters will fill you, form you, and allow the Holy Spirit to flow through you.

Every page of the Bible can be an encounter with the living God.

If you want more resources on how to live ALL of God’s purposes for your life head over to www.TruVineMission.com for some great FREE resources.

--

--

Mark Furlong

Author, Coach Helping busy, active people know and live ALL of God’s purposes for their life: the COMPLETE life. www.TruVineMission.com,